## MINUTES--47th ANNUAL MEETING CALIFORNIA AVOCADO SOCIETY

## June 3, 1 961, Santa Paula, California

The 47th annual meeting of the California Avocado Society was held at the Santa Paula High School, Santa Paula, California, on June 3, 1961.

President William Catlin welcomed the members attending the meeting.

The President gave a resume of the work done by the Board, during the year, and listed the grants made to the University of California at Riverside for further research.

MOTION: It was moved and seconded that a small group of persons (such as magazine editors, radio reporters, etc.), actively supporting the avocado industry, be given honorary memberships in the Society. Carried.

As Chairman of the Nominating Committee, Director Chaffee Young nominated incumbent Directors Walter Beck, H. W. Montgomery, and Hugh Walker.

MOTION: It was moved and seconded that the nominations be closed and the Secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous ballot. Carried.

Director Todd, Chairman of the Membership Committee, reported that the Society membership stood at 731 as of June 3.

The 1961 Award of Honor was presented to A. M. Boyce, Dean of the College of Agriculture, University of California, Riverside Campus.

MOTION: (to be referred to Committee for study) That a plaque be placed at the site of the original Hass avocado tree in California, and that a plaque be placed in the original Fuerte grove in Yorba Linda, California.

Respectfully submitted, Mercedes Rogers, Secretary